Mountain Mgahinga

Mountain Mgahinga in Uganda; only 33 sq km of size, is located in the far southwestern corner of Uganda bordering Rwanda and Congo,14 km from Kisoro town in Bufumbira County about 540 km from Kampala-the capital. Mgahinga National Ranges was gazetted in 1991.
Thus this mountain comprise of the northern slopes of the three northern most Virunga Volcanoes namely; the 3,474 m high Mt. Gahinga , Mt. Muhavura (4,127 m), and Mt. Sabinyo (3,645 m).

So, these ranges are bordered to the south by the Republic of Rwanda and to the west by the Democratic Republic of Congo(DRC). Each of these surrounding countries protects its own share of the Virungas. Thus Mgahinga has a total land area of 33.7 sq. km, just 8% of the Virunga Conservation Area.

Therefore, Mgahinga Ranges experience two wet rainy seasons; February – May and September- December of each year. Hence the maximum amount of rainfall it receives in a year is 250mm-October and Minimum is 10mm -July.