Contact: info[at]
Call us today: +256 392 177 127
Love Uganda safaris

Busoga kingdom palace

Busoga Kingdom has a political, social and economic organization similar to that of other interacastrian kingdoms.

Their language is called Lusoga, and their people are referred to as Basoga.

Busoga is a traditional Bantu kingdom and one of four constitutional monarchies in present-day Uganda. The kingdom is a cultural institution which promotes popular participation and unity among the people of the region. This is done through development programs to improve their standard of living. Busoga strives for a united people who have economic, social and cultural prosperity and assists the Kyabazinga.

Busoga means “Land of the Soga”, and is the kingdom of the 11 principalities of the Basoga or Soga (singular Musoga) people. Its capital is Bugembe, near Jinja (Uganda’s second-largest city, after Kampala). It comprises eleven districts: Kamuli, Namayingo, Namutumba, Iganga, Bugiri, Mayuge,Jinja, Buyende, Luuka and the new districts of Kaliro and Busiki. An elected chairperson or a Local Council Five heads each district; and municipalities are headed by an elected mayor.

Jinja is the industrial and economic hub of Busoga. The shallow Lake Kyoga (separating it from Lango) boarders the palace on the North; on the west by the Victoria Nile (separating it from Buganda); on the south by Lake Victoria (separating it from Tanzania and Kenya); then on the east by the Mpologoma River (separating it from smaller tribal groups such as the Adhola, Bugwere and Bugisu). It also includes several islands in Lake Victoria, such as Buvuma Island.

Their palace is in Jinja District

for more information, visit the link below